Because Life Gets Blurry

and I dont want to forget a thing.

Class Ring July 3, 2009

Filed under: The First 50 — Blur @ 1:33 pm
Tags:

So I graduated just over 2 years ago, I’ve been wearing my class ring ever since junior year. I love it, it has my birthstone and a skinny band and doesn’t look like your traditional class ring.

I recently bought a new ring in remembrance of a friend who passed away 2.5 years ago. Its a pretty, simple ring with a purple stone but the thing is I’m not sure what finger to wear it on, the one I think it looks best on is the one I wear my class ring on. It just doesn’t look as good on any other fingers. And my class ring doesn’t look good put on the same hand, or on the hand with my engagement ring. 

So my question is whats the traditional length/time to wear a class ring? Should I have already retired it to the back of my jewelry box?(which I would need to buy because I don’t have one yet, but I think that would also help a lot with keeping track of my jewelry, which I always tend to lose) Or would it be better to wear it as a necklace? But that means I might lose it which is something I don’t want to do. Will it still be okay to wear it or will people assume im still in high school if they see it?

 

2 Responses to “Class Ring”

  1. babysmiling Says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.

    I have no idea what the proper protocol is, but I’ll tell you what I’ve done.

    My class ring had a natural expiration date since I lost it my freshman year of college!

    But, if I hadn’t lost it, I definitely would have stopped wearing it once I graduated from college (even though I didn’t buy a college class ring). I got two more degrees beyond that, which ultimately were a much bigger deal to me than graduating high school, and I wouldn’t wear riings even for those, so a high school class ring would seem very strange to me in my 30s. I have occasionally seen people wear a class ring years beyond graduation, but mostly men, and quite rarely.

    My husband ended up giving me his class ring pretty early in our relationship. It’s a big clunky men’s ring, and doesn’t fit me, so it’s always lived in my jewelry box. I also have rings from two of my grandparents and two of his grandparents in there, so it’s quite the trip through memory lane in there.

    A jewelry box would be a very nice bridal shower present! You could mention it to some friends and see if anyone remembers…

    • Blur Says:

      Thanks for the response, that sounds like a great idea for a bridal shower gift. I’ll definetly have to mention it to someone 🙂


Leave a Reply

