Because Life Gets Blurry

and I dont want to forget a thing.

The induction/Birth story February 1, 2011

Filed under: Baby,Pregnancy — Blur @ 8:57 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I couldn’t keep you waiting until tomorrow so here’s the next part:

The doctors nurse called me on the monday before and said to be at L&D on the night of the 8th to start cervidil to do that over night to get my cervix effaced and opening. So we go in at 5:30 ont he 8th and get all settled in our room and we were just so excited to be meeting our baby with in the next two days.

So when the doctor comes in to insert the cervidill she tells me im already 3cms dilated and that the cervadil isn’t needed. I was happy to hear that but then she said I could go home! I was like hell no, I came here to have a baby I don’t wanna go home. But they talked me into it saying I needed to get a full nights sleep (and I wouldn’t get that there) so they gave me a ambien and we went home. I took that ambien and sat on the couch for a while then about 20 mins later I needed I was so sleepy I needed help walking to our bedroom. LOL

So we go in the next morning, the 9th, at 7:30 and get settled in AGAIN. The doctor came in a 8:30 and broke my water. Then at 9am we started pitocin. I was fine for about 2 hours, playing around on facebook. Even ordered some more checks online. Then around 11 the contractions got VERY painful. I pushed the lap top away and couldn’t really focus on anything. I didn’t want my husband touching me either.

They offered pain medication and said I could get the epidural at anytime. I wanted to hold off as long as I could. But I said ok to the IV pain meds.  Then the nurse said she was going to call the anesthesiologist to come in because he usually took some time getting there.

The IV meds werent helping all that much either. Then all of a sudden a contraction hit and I felt this weird off sensation and then I felt really loopy and the intensity of the contraction let up a little bit.

Just then at noon the Epidural guy showed up. So I sat on the edge of the bed with Mr. Blur and the nurse holding me, He took a long time to get the epidural in. But once in it was amazing! I don’t know how people do it without if you have then you deserve an award! I was around 5 cm dilated when I got that.

After that things went smoothly, family arrived and we chatted, they came in and out. Then around 5 they checked me again and I was at 10cms! But the doctor said no pushing until I felt the urge to push.

Another hour later at 6 I started feeling a slight urge to push so we started.

This is when hubby got SUPER amazing, (he was amazing the whole time) but we really worked as a team for pushing, the nurse didn’t really do much except watch. She kept saying “oh you guys got this” and telling other nurses how great of a team we were.

Because of the epidural my right leg was completely numb, my left one wasnt as bad. So the hubby every push would lift my right leg up and hold it for me and count for me. It was 3 pushes of 10 counts. I tried doing more sometimes. For the first 2 I’d do more because every time on the last one I was get really nausea and not be able to finish it. I threw up on every third push(which actually helped him come down the birth canal) but it was really hard on me, I was getting so tired.

I ended up pushing for 3 hours! Way more than I thought i’d have to. I finally said “we ARE getting him out, I am tired of pushing!!” and then everyone came in (doctor and more nurses) and I pushed him out at 9:02 pm, 12 hours since starting pitocin and 3 hours of pushing..

R J was here

December 9th, 2010

6lbs 15oz

19 inches long

Happy and Healthy With a head FULL of dark hair, with long fingers and toes.

 

2 Responses to “The induction/Birth story”

  1. Britt Says:

    Congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

